ILSSA Boston

A Public-Private Law Enforcement Partnership


Facilities associated with the Commercial Facilities Sector, such as hotels, operate on the principle of open public access, meaning that the general public can move freely throughout these facilities without the deterrent of highly visible security barriers. The majority of the facilities in this sector are privately owned and operated, with minimal interaction with the Federal Government and other regulatory entities. The Commercial Facilities Sector consists of the following eight subsectors:

  1. Public Assembly (e.g., arenas, stadiums, aquariums, zoos, museums, convention centers);
  2. Sports Leagues (e.g., professional sports leagues and federations);
  3. Gaming (e.g., casinos);
  4. Lodging (e.g., hotels, motels, conference centers);
  5. Outdoor Events (e.g., theme and amusement parks, fairs, campgrounds, parades);
  6. Entertainment and Media (e.g., motion picture studios, broadcast media);
  7. Real Estate (e.g., office and apartment buildings, condominiums, mixed use facilities, self-storage); and
  8. Retail (e.g., retail centers and districts, shopping malls).

To learn more about the DHS Critical Infrastructure Commercial Facilities Sector, please click on the link below to download an overview document.


DHS Suspicious Activity Training Video

See Something, Say Something - Eye On Awareness